Meet our New Playwrights of 2019!

The Lyric Theatre and the Arts Council of Northern Ireland are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2019 New Playwrights Programme, a six-month writing development programme, aimed at emerging playwrights to create new work.  This year, following a high level of interest, six writers were awarded a place on the programme; Annie Keegan, Clare McMahon, Clare Monnelly, Rian Smith, Ross Wylie and Sarah Gordon.

As part of the programme, the six writers will now develop their ideas over the next six months with the Lyric’s Literary Manager, Rebecca Mairs.  The new works will be brought to life by on stage at the Lyric Theatre in autumn 2019 by professional actors and directors.

Rebecca Mairs, Literary Manager, Lyric Theatre, commented:

“We are delighted to welcome six new writers for the third year of our New Playwrights Programme.  New writing is the lifeblood of any producing house theatre, and it is essential that we provide a platform for an emerging generation of playwrights to present contemporary issues in new and powerful ways.  Through this programme, the Lyric creates an inviting, dynamic, and inspiring space where new artists can thrive, offering them the support they need to create bold and vibrant new work. It is great to be part of such an exciting journey.”

Damian Smyth,Head of Literature and Drama, Arts Council of Northern Ireland, added:

“It’s critical that the Arts Council is involved in supporting writers at all stages of their careers and we are proud to partner with the Lyric Theatre in this important programme which ensures that six writers get dedicated, bespoke mentorship support over a six-month period to create new work.  We warmly congratulate all six new playwrights and look forward to seeing their work on the Lyric stage later this year.”

Find out more about our New Playwrights and the New Playwrights Programme here.